It happens all the time. A little red blip in Facebook directs you to a notification that a friend tagged you in a photograph somebody uploaded.

The company rolled out the tagging feature in 2010, and all the photos since – the thousands, millions, even billions of them – were slowly building something. What that was, Facebook turned on this week.

Now, when somebody uploads a photo of you, Facebook will identify you all by itself, with no human input. “Now, if you’re in a photo and are part of the audience for that post, we’ll notify you, even if you haven’t been tagged,” the company explained in a blog post this week announcing its new facial recognition features.

“You’re in control of your image on Facebook and can make choices such as whether to tag yourself, leave yourself untagged, or reach out to the person who posted the photo if you have concerns about it.” From one perspective, you could argue this hasn’t entirely come out of left field. Read more from sciencealert.com…

thumbnail courtesy of sciencealert.com